IRHA Physician of Excellence Awards

In a tradition started more than a decade ago by the National Rural Health Association, the Illinois Rural Health Association has been honoring physicians who exhibit a special commitment to rural healthcare.

“One of the biggest healthcare challenges across our nation is the shortage of physicians who practice in rural settings. IRHA feels it is important to recognize those who have accepted this calling and gone out of their way to make an impact,” explained Margaret Vaughn, IRHA Executive Director.

IRHA Presents 2016 Physician of Excellence Awards

Congrats to Dr. Colleen Bingham, who received the 2016 Rural Physician of Excellence Award on National Rural Health Day, Thursday November 17th.

Pictured first row: Phil and Mary Ann Maton (physician's parents), Dr. Bingham and her husband Dean and mother-in-law Darlene Bingham
Second row standing: Brent Todd (SIU School of Medicine), IRHA Board member Cynthia Wise, IRHA Director Margaret Vaughn, IRHA Past -President Ken Ryan, Janice Westendorf (Family Care Associates) and State Rep. John Cavaletto (R-Salem).

Congrats Dr. Gregg Davis 2016 Rural Physician of Excellence Winner reception held at Perry Memorial Hospital in Princeton on October 12th. 

Seated: Dr. Gregg Davis and his wife, Renee; Standing: Diana Rawlings, Public Health Administrator, Bureau/Putnam/Marshall County Health Department; Pat Schou, ICAHN Executive Director; Annette Schnabel, Perry Memorial Hospital CEO/Administrator; Margaret Vaughn, IRHA Executive Director; and State Rep. Don Moffitt (R-Gilson).

Congrats Dr. Matt Gullone of Galena, 2016 Physician of Excellence Winner. Picture taken Oct. 6th at reception hosted by Midwest Medical Center surrounded by family, patients and colleagues.

Special congrats to our Physician of Excellence Winner Dr. Sally Salmons of Carle Foundation Hospital, presented 10/04/16 with IRHA Board Member Amy Rademaker and Executive Director Margaret Vaughn.

Congrats Dr. Christopher Wagoner, 2016  IL Rural Health Association Physician of Excellence Winner, presented at Illini Rural Health Clinic in Pittsfield 10/05/2016.

1st Row Seated: Cherie and Dr. Chris Wagoner, Standing: Rep. CD Davidsmeyer (R-Jacksonville), Nicole Laux, Margaret Vaughn Holly Jones, Illini Hospital CEO Kathy Hull and Sen. Sam McCann (R-Plainview).

   © 2015  Illinois Rural Health Association
   9211 Waterfall Glen Blvd. | Darien, Illinois 60561

   Phone: 217-280-0206  | Fax: 630-908-7311 |  E-mail:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software